Winners, Winners, Winners!
FBLA, HOSA, Yearbook Students Win Awards
Posted on 05/09/2020
This is the image for the news article titled FBLA, HOSA, Yearbook Students Win AwardsFBLA
Members of the Fort Zumwalt West FBLA Chapter attended the Virtual Missouri State FBLA Conference the week of May 4, 2020.  The WHS chapter received recognition as Gold State Chapter of the Year.  Additionally, Ella Brown, Cece DiMercurio, and Alicia Shane, earned 10th place in Publication Design.

Brown also won 4th place in Public Speaking.  She will now compete at the Virtual FBLA National Conference this summer. 

HOSA members also attended their State Leadership Conference virtually.  Over 900 students and 66 HOSA chapters competed.  Nine of WHS HOSA members competed--six of whom placed in the top five at the state level.  Congrats to these HOSA award winners:

Jacob Fetsch, 1st place/Dental Science
Saanvi Gowda, 2nd place/Medical Assisting
Ashlyn Pierangeli, 4th place/Medical Terminology
Lelani Jarosz, 4th place/Medical Assisting
Surya Sompalli, 5th place/Medical Law & Ethics
Lauren Baetje, 5th place/Pathophysiology

The Predator Yearbook Staff
Members of the WHS yearbook staff once again received the "Best of" Award for their 2019 The Predator publication.  The staff's work will be featured in Balfour's 2020 Yearbook Yearbook publication, which represents fewer than 1 percent of the books printed annually by Balfour).  Students also won two featured awards in the Photos category.

Congratulations also to Curtis Meyerpeter who also--once again--won Honorable Mention in Balfour's Great Shot Photo Contest.  Meyerpeter's photo was chosen from over 1,400 entries; he will receive a $50 gift card for his photo titled "Comfortable Design" on the subject "Out of the Classroom."